Coating technology

Optical Coatings

Building 2
Molten coating material
Building 2
Schematic depiction of evaporation (evaporators left and right) and a supporting ion gun (middle)
Sputtering
Schematic magnetron sputtering process: Ions from the gas discharge are accelerated to the target (top) where they create coating particles.
Sputtered Optics
Ion beam sputtering:
Ions from the deposition source (middle) are accelerated to the target (right). Sputtered particles condense on the substrates (top). A second ion source (left) assists the process.
Optical coatings are widely used to change the reflectivity of glass surfaces, reaching from spectacles to high power laser applications. This page will give you an overview about three major coating technologies regularly utilized at LAYERTEC.

The subcategories introduce the physics behind dielectric an metallic coatings as well as the possibility to combine metallic and dielectric layers.

Thermal and Electron Beam Evaporation

Thermal and electron beam evaporation are the most common techniques for the production of optical coatings. LAYERTEC uses these techniques mainly for UV coatings. The evaporation sources are mounted on the bottom of the evaporation chamber. They contain the coating material which is heated by an electron gun (e-beam evaporation) or by resistive heating (thermal evaporation). The method of heating depends on the material properties (e.g. the melting point) and the optical specifications.

The substrates are mounted on a rotating substrate holder on top of the evaporation chamber. Rotation of the substrates is necessary to ensure the coating uniformity. The substrates must be heated to a temperature of 150–400°C, depending on the substrate and coating materials. This provides low absorption losses and good adhesion of the coating to the substrates. Ion guns are used to get more compact layers.

Properties of Evaporated Coatings

The energy of the film forming particles is very low (∼1eV). That´s why, the mobility of the particles must be enhanced by heating the substrates. Nevertheless, the packing density of evaporated coatings is relatively low and the layers often contain microcrystallites. This results in relatively high straylight losses (some tenth of a percent to some percent, depending on the wavelength).

Moreover, water from the atmosphere can diffuse into the coatings and out of the coatings depending on temperature and humidity. This results in a shift of the reflectance bands by ∼1.5% of the wavelength. Nevertheless, evaporated coatings have high laser damage thresholds and are widely used in lasers and other optical devices.

Sputtering

In general, the term “sputtering” stands for the extraction of particles (atoms, ions or molecules) from a solid by ion bombardment. Ions are accelerated towards a target and collide with the target atoms. The original ions as well as recoiled particles move through the material, collide with other atoms a.s.o. Most of the ions and recoiled atoms remain within the material, but a certain fraction of the recoiled atoms is scattered towards the surface by this multiple collision process. These particles leave the target and may then move to the substrates and form the film.

Magnetron Sputtering

The above mentioned ions are delivered by a gas discharge which burns in front of the target. It may be excited either by a direct voltage (DC-sputtering) or by an alternating voltage (RF-sputtering). In the case of DC-sputtering the target is a disk of a high purity metal (e.g. titanium). For RF-sputtering also dielectric compounds (e.g. titanium dioxide) can be used as targets. Adding a reactive gas to the gas discharge (e.g. oxygen) results in the formation of the corresponding compounds (e.g. oxides).

LAYERTEC has developed magnetron sputtering for optical coatings from a laboratory technique to a very efficient industrial process which yields coatings with outstanding properties especially in the VIS and NIR spectral range. Our largest magnetron sputtering plant can coat substrates up to a diameter of 500mm.

Ion Beam Sputtering

This technique uses a separate ion source to generate the ions. To avoid contaminations, RF-sources are used in modern IBS plants. The reactive gas (oxygen) is in most cases also provided by an ion source. This results in a better reactivity of the particles and in more compact layers.

The main difference between magnetron sputtering and ion beam sputtering is that ion generation, target and substrates are completely separated in the IBS process while they are very close to each other in the magnetron sputter process.

Properties of Sputtered Coatings

Because of the high kinetic energy (∼10 eV), i.e. high mobility, of the film forming particles, sputtered layers exhibit:

  • an amorphous microstructure and
  • a high packing density (which is close to that of bulk materials)

This results in:

  • low straylight losses
  • high thermal and climatical stability of the optical parameters
  • high laser induced damage thresholds
  • high mechanical stability

No external heating is necessary to produce oxide layers with minimum absorbance.

Beschichtungstechnologie

Thermische Bedampfung und Elektronenstrahlbedampfung

Building 2
Verdampfendes Beschichtungsmaterial im Elektronenstrahlverdampfer
Building 2
Schematische Darstellung des Bedampfungsprozesses: Im Verdampfer (links,rechts) wird das Beschichtungsmaterial verdampft, um auf den Substraten (oben) zu kondensieren. Eine Ionenquelle (Mitte) kann den Prozess unterstützen.
Sputtering
Beim Magnetron-Sputtern werden Ionen aus einer Gasentladung auf ein Target (oben) beschleunigt. Dort entstehen durch die Kollision schnelle Neutralteilchen, von denen sich ein Teil auf den Substraten (unten) niederschlagen kann.
Sputtered Optics
Schematische Darstellung des Ionenstrahl-Sputterns
Thermische- und Elektronenstrahlverdampfung sind die am weitesten verbreiteten Techniken zur Produktion optischer Beschichtungen. LAYERTEC verwendet sie hauptsächlich zur Herstellung von Schichten für UV-Anwendungen.

Die Verdampfungsquelle befindet sich am Boden der Beschichtungskammer. Sie enthält das Beschichtungsmaterial, welches durch Elektronenstrahlverdampfung oder thermische Verdampfung erhitzt und verdampft wird. Die jeweilige Methode hängt von den Materialeigenschaften (zum Beispiel dem Schmelzpunkt) und den optischen Spezifikationen ab.

Die Substrate befinden sich auf einem rotierenden Substrathalter im oberen Teil der Verdampfungskammer. Die Rotation der Substrate ist notwendig, um die Homogenität der Beschichtung zu gewährleisten. Abhängig vom Beschichtungsmaterial muss das Substrat auf eine Temperatur zwischen 150°C und 400°C erhitzt werden. Dadurch wird eine geringe Absorption und eine gute Haftung des beschichteten Materials am Substrat gewährleistet. Ionenkanonen, die auf die Substrate gerichtet sind, verdichten die aufgebrachten Schichten.

Eigenschaften

Die kinetische Energie der verdampften Teilchen ist vergleichsweise gering (∼1eV). Durch Erhitzen des Substrats erhöht man die Beweglichkeit der Teilchen, was zu dichteren Schichten führt. Dennoch bleibt die Packungsdichte aufgedampfter Schichten relativ gering und es bilden sich oft Mikrokristallite. Dadurch entstehen Streulichtverluste (abhängig von der Wellenlänge einige Promill)

In der Atmosphäre enthaltenes Wasser kann in locker gepackten Schichten sowohl hinein als auch hinaus diffundieren. Dies führt zu einer Verschiebung der Reflexionsbänder um ∼1.5% der Wellenlänge. Dennoch zeigen aufgedampfte Beschichtungen ebenfalls eine hohe Laserzerstörschwelle und sind weitverbreitet in Lasern und anderen optischen Bauteilen.

Sputtern - Beschichtungsprozess

Der Begriff "Sputtern" (engl.: zerstäuben) bezeichnet in der Beschichtungstechnik das Herauslösen von Partikeln (Atomen, Ionen oder Molekülen) aus einem Festkörper-Target durch Ionenbeschuss.

Hierzu werden Ionen typischerweise aus einem Gas erzeugt und in Richtung des Targets beschleunigt. Dort kollidieren sie mit den Atomen des Targets. Die Ursprungsionen, sowie die gestörten Partikel bewegen sich durch das Material und kollidieren mit weiteren Atomen. Die meisten Ionen und getroffenen Atome verbleiben dabei im Material, jedoch wird ein geringer Teil der Atome durch diesen Prozess zur Oberfläche hin gestreut. Ein Teil dieser Partikel verlässt das Target und bewegt sich in Richtung des Substrats, um dort als Schicht zu kondensieren.

Magnetron-Sputtern (MS)

Beim Magnetron-Sputtern erzeugt man die notwendigen Ionen durch eine Gasentladung, die direkt vor dem Target brennt. Diese kann z.B. durch Anlegen einer elektrischen Gleichspannung bzw. durch eine Wechselspannung angeregt werden (DC-Sputtern bzw. RF-Sputtern). Im Fall der Gleichspannungsanregung besteht das Target aus einer Scheibe hochreinen Metalls, beispielsweise Titan. Beim RF-Sputtern können aber auch dielektrische Targets wie z.B. Titanoxid verwendet werden. Wird der Gasentladung ein reaktives Gas wie z.B. Sauerstoff hinzugefügt, führt dies zur Bildung von chemischen Reaktionsprodukten wie z.B. Oxiden.

LAYERTEC hat das Magnetron-Sputtern für optische Beschichtungen von einer Labortechnik zu einem effizienten und industriellen Verfahren entwickelt, welches Beschichtungen mit außerordentlichen Eigenschaften, vor allem im VIS- und NIR-Spektralbereich ermöglicht. Unsere größte Magnetron-Sputteranlage kann Substrate bis zu einem Durchmesser von 500mm beschichten.

Ionenstrahl Sputtern (IBS)

Beim Ionenstrahlsputtern (engl.: Ion Beam Sputtering, IBS) wird eine separate Ionenquelle eingesetzt. Um Kontaminationen durch Filamente vorzubeugen, verwendet man in modernen IBS-Anlagen hochfrequenzangeregte Quellen. Das Reaktivgas (Sauerstoff) wird in den meisten Fällen auch von der Ionenquelle geliefert. Dies führt zu einer besseren Reaktivität der Teilchen und kompakteren Schichten.

Der größte Unterschied zwischen dem Magnetron-Sputtern und dem Ionenstrahl-Sputtern liegt in der kompletten Trennung der Ionen-Erzeugung vom Target und Substrat beim IBS, während sie beim Magnetron-Sputtern sehr nah beieinander liegen.

Eigenschaften gesputterter Beschichtungen

Aufgrund der vergleichsweise hohen kinetischen Energien (Ek∼10 eV) der schichtbildenden Teilchen weisen gesputterte Schichten eine amorphe Mikrostruktur und eine hohe Packungsdichte (nahezu die des Festkörpers) auf.

Die thermische Belastung der Substrate während der Beschichtung ist kleiner als bei der konventionellen Bedampfung.

Wichtige Eigenschaften in der Übersicht:

  • geringe Verluste durch Streulicht
  • hohe thermische und klimatische Stabilität der optischen Parameter
  • hohe Laserfestigkeit
  • hohe mechanische Stabilität