Components for third harmonic of the Ti:Sapphire Laser

Components for the Third Harmonic of the Ti:Sapphire Laser

The third harmonic of the Ti:Sapphire laser provides fs - pulses in the UV range (∼250 – 330nm). These offer a variety of applications in spectroscopy as well as in materials science. Optics for these very special applications must be optimized for both high reflectivities and low dispersion. For more information about optics for the third and the higher harmonics please see our Components for the higher harmonic of Ti:Sapphire laser section or pages 70 – 71 of our catalog.

Dual Wavelength Mirrors

turning mirror for 270nm and 405nmFigure 1: Reflectance- (a) and GDD - spectra (b, c) of a fs - optimized turning mirror for 270nm + 405nm

Seperators for the Third Harmonic and the Ground Wave

separator HR 270nm and HT 405 + 810nmFigure 2: Reflectance- (a) and GDD - spectra (b) of a separator HR 270nm + HT 405 + 810nm (45°)
separators for the third and fourth harmonicsFigure 3:
Reflectance spectra of separators for the third and fourth harmonics:
HRr (45°, 266nm) > 98% + Rr (45°, 200nm) < 10%
a) oxide coatings optimized for low straylight losses (rear side uncoated )
b) flouride coatings for high laser induced damage thresholds and high transmission at 200nm (rear side uncoated)

Please note that aluminum oxide which is the high refractive index material for DUV oxide coatings exhibits absorption losses for wavelengths < 215nm, while fluoride coatings are free of absorption down to wavelengths as low as 140 nm.

Broadband Separators for the Third Harmonic

broadband separatorFigure 4: Reflectance (a) and GDD (b) spectra of a broadband separator with high reflectivity for s-polarized light throughout the wavelength range of the third harmonic of the Ti:Sapphire laser and high transmission for p-polarized light in the VIS and NIR: HRs(45°, 250 – 330nm) > 95% + Rp(45°, 440 – 1000nm) < 3%
broadband separatorFigure 5: Reflectance (a) and GDD (b) spectra of a broadband separator for normal incidence with high reflectivity throughout the wavelength range of the third harmonic of the Ti:Sapphire laser and high transmission in the VIS and NIR: HR(0°, 250 – 340nm) > 95% + R(0°, 600 – 900nm) < 10%

Separators with high reflectivity and low GDD in a broad wavelength range in the UV and high transmission in the VIS and NIR are still under investigation. In the following we present some sputtered coatings which meet these demands.

Bauteile für die dritte Harmonische des Ti:Saphir Lasers

Bauteile für die dritte Harmonische des Ti:Saphir Lasers

Die dritte Harmonische des Ti:Saphir Lasers liefert fs-Pulse im UV Bereich (∼250 - 330nm). Daraus ergeben sich eine Vielzahl an Einsatzmöglichkeiten für die Spektroskopie, wie auch die Materialwissenschaften. Optiken für diese sehr speziellen Anwendungen müssen sowohl auf hohe Reflektivität, als auch auf niedrige Dispersion hin optimiert werden. Für weitere Informationen zu Optiken für dritte und höhere Harmonische möchten wir Sie auf den Abschnitt Bauteile für höhere Harmonische des Ti:Saphir Lasers oder die Seiten 70 - 71 unseres Kataloges verweisen.

Dual Wavelength Mirrors

turning mirror for 270nm and 405nmBild 1: Reflektivität (a) und GDD Spektrum (b, c) eines fs-optimierten Umlenkspiegels für 270 + 405nm

Separatoren für die dritte Harmonische und die Ground Wave

separator HR 270nm and HT 405 + 810nmBild 2: Reflektivität (a) und GDD Spektrum (b) eines Separators HR 270nm + HT 405 + 810nm (45°)
separators for the third and fourth harmonicsBild 3:
Reflektivitätsspektrum eines Separators für die dritte und vierte Harmonische
HRr (45°, 266nm) > 98% + Rr (45°, 200nm) < 10%
a) Oxide Beschichtungen für niedrige Streulichtverluste optimiert (Rückseite unbeschichtet)
b) Fluoride Beschichtungen hohe laserinduzierte Zerstörschwellen und hohe Transmissionen bei 200nm (Rückseite unbeschichtet)

Bitte beachten Sie, daß Aluminiumoxid, welches das Material hohen Brechungsindexes für DUV Oxide ist, Absorptionsverluste für Wellenlängen < 215 nm aufweist, während Fluoridbeschichtungen bis zu Wellenlängen von 140 nm frei von Absorptionen sind.

Breitband Separatoren für die dritte Harmonische

broadband separatorBild 4: Reflektivität (a) und GDD Spektrum (b) eines Breitband Separators mit hoher Reflektivität für s-polarisiertes Licht über dem Wellenlängenbereich der dritten Harmonischen des Ti:Saphir Lasers und hoher Transmission für p-polarisiertes Licht in VIS und NIR: HRs(45°, 250 – 330nm) > 95% + Rp(45°, 440 – 1000nm) < 3%
broadband separatorFigure 5: Reflektivität (a) und GDD Spektrum (b) eines Breitbandseparators hoher Reflektivität, unter sekrechtem Lichteinfall über dem Wellenlängenbereich der dritten Harmonischen des Ti:Saphir Lasers und hoher Transmission in VIS und NIR: HR(0°, 250 – 340nm) > 95% + R(0°, 600 – 900nm) < 10%

Separatoren mit hoher Reflektivität und nedriger GDD in breiten Wellenlängenbereichen des UV und hoher Transmission in VIS und NIR befinden sich in der Entwicklung. Im Folgenden möchten wir Ihnen einige gesputterte Beschichtungen vorstellen, welche diese Anforderungen erfüllen.